Downtown Waterfront Sunrise

         Last week Friday morning I woke unusually early around 3:30am with a great desire to be active and to explore. I figured since I was in such a adventurous mood i would try my hand at the sunrise that morning, but where ? Where would i camp and observe the sun as it blessed the day with its warmth?

I grabbed my camera bag and set out for my adventure. As the sun’s radiance became more visible over the mountains I knew I had to make a decision quickly. My first choice was to run to the hills and get it from there but time was of the essence so I set my destination for downtown waterfront. At 6:30am I pulled into an empty parking lot near the pier and realized the sun began to show over the horizon. I sat on the ledge of the pier with my feet dangling over the water taking in the initial views of the sun as it graced the water illuminating everything around it. I momentarily got lost in the splendor that unfolded before me that I hadn’t taken notice that I was yet to start shooting. I nodded in respect to the sun and and took out my camera with the macro lens attached. While i was pleased with the results i was getting I felt that there was more potential there that I was yet to capture. I switched to the telephoto lens and gained a bit of distance on my original spot. Before I even raised my camera to my eye I could tell that I had now found the right perspective . Shot after shot after shot , with each click of the shutter I knew that I had done what I came to do. I raced back and forth from each end of the pier ensuring I got it from all angles only taking a few secs between shots to ensure exposure and focus were still my ally.

After what seemed like 2 hours of shooting i settled back into my car and reviewed the images. Excitement, joy and satisfaction filled my being as each image was bold and powerful in its own way. I gave my final respects to the sun and saluted my surroundings and left.

 

Leave a Reply

